Home Forums DIY Packrafts Build Experience Telkwa with 735 GSM Floor

• Creator
    Topic
    harald
    Participant

Hi everybody,

I am a first time builder of a Telkwa kit with the 735 GSM floor material.

My welding tools where a sanded AliExpress leather iron and sometimes also a heat gun from a 852D+ SMD station (eBay).

I followed most of the instruction, but did some things differently:

Deviations

• For sealing I used a 2K Polyurethane glue (Bostik 520 PU for inflatables). This is not a sealant like Aquaseal but a contact adhesive. The TPU to TPU bonds when used as contact adhesive are as good if not better than welds. You need pliers to pull them apart.
      Since I had it collecting dust, I did some tests with Matt’s fabrics and found that it could be used also as a sealant. It remains very flexible and is not sticky after curing. This saved me from using talcum which I only had available as a scented babypowder. (“Nice packraft you have, buddy and it also smells good” 🙂 )
    •  I struggled with the front center seam, maybe I just did not have the right bowl to insert to weld the tip. For the rear center seam I used therefore a modified technique which this reenactment picture illustrates:

Back Seam Technique

I clamped the the two sides of the seam flat and flush on each other with the seam strip bent over in a U fashion. Then I heated sections from both sides with the heat gun and used a little tool to clamp down the seals. The purpose of the clamp tool is to create an even pressure, the aluminium pieces support fast cooling of the welds. Pliers did not work well for me, the area than can be pressed is small and the force is not exactly perpendicular to the weld.
    Here’s a detailed shot of the clamp tool and the wall hook which was sacrificed for a noble goal.

Clamp Tool

Build Quality and 735 GSM floor