Home Forums DIY Packrafts TPU orientation

• Creator
    Topic
    Samsquanch
    Participant

Newbie here with what is probably an obvious question. So I’ve got my Skeena pieces cut out. Got my tools ready. Tested my welding technique. Watched a bunch of videos. Feeling more or less ready to start welding my first DIY packraft. I have this nagging question. When you are joining two pieces of fabric, is there a principal that guides how the fabric faces should be oriented to each other? For example, on the inflation bag, the circular piece of 1000D could have it’s TPU facing the TPU coating of the 40D, or it could be oriented with the TPU facing the fabric. You mention the risk of melting the TPU on the far side which suggests the latter, but then would the bond not be stronger if they aligned TPU to TPU? I was initially confused with the same question when considering how R3 would orient to the floor. In that case it’s the TPU of the walls onto the fabric side of the floor. The videos are very helpful in this case, but I haven’t seen orientation mentioned directly anywhere.

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      androidmids
      Participant

So when welding the floor material which is double coated, how can we melt it to itself if we cannot weld tpu coated sides of fabric?

Matt (Admin)
        Keymaster

There’s no step in the DIY Packraft kits where that’s required, but in theory you could use a hot air welder.

Samsquanch
      Participant

Thanks for the response. That totally makes sense. It was the fact that the heavier fabric is coated on both sides that I’d missed. I was able to build confidence by watching the videos, but found myself pausing the videos at various points to check if the floor was shiny side up or down. My Alpacka has the floor shiny side up, which was also giving me pause. In the end I just went for it and so far so good.

invincible
      Participant